First Vice-Chair: Joseph H. Jefferson, Jr.

Kambrell H. Garvin Rosalyn D. Henderson-Myers Jeffrey E. "Jeff" Johnson John R. McCravy, III Adam M. Morgan Melissa Lackey Oremus Marvin R. Pendarvis Tommy M. Stringer Chris Wooten

Jennifer L. Dobson Research Director

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator

## Legislative Oversight Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives

Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811

Room 228 Blatt Building

Gil Gatch
William M. "Bill" Hixon
Kimberly O. Johnson
Josiah Magnuson
Timothy A. "Tim" McGinnis
Travis A. Moore
Russell L. Ott
Michael F. Rivers, Sr.
John Taliaferro (Jay) West, IV

Charles L. Appleby, IV Legal Counsel

Lewis Carter Research Analyst/Auditor

Riley E. McCullough Research Analyst

August 31, 2021

Executive Director Kevin A. Shwedo Department of Motor Vehicles Post Office Box 1498 Blythewood, South Carolina 29016

Via Email: Lauren.Phillips@scdmv.net

Dear Director Shwedo:

Please provide an update on the implementation status of the ad hoc committee's recommendation for increased interagency collaboration with the State Election Commission to assist with removing deceased voters from the state's active voter roll. Please respond by Friday, October 1, 2021. Thank you for your cooperation and for your service to the people of South Carolina.

Sincerely,

Wm. Weston J. Newton

Chairman, House Legislative Oversight Committee

Wester / Menter

cc: Ad hoc committee